Varying it up a bit!

Standard

I’ve been in a slump. That’s the nice way to put it. I’ve been depressed. Unmotivated. Slovenly. Okay, maybe not slovenly– my only saving grace, the only reason I haven’t been regaining, is my obstinance about jogging. But I could have been doing better in so many areas.

My challenges, after sorting it out, lie mostly in my daily calorie allowance. I could not stay within my recommended calories on Sparkpeople, not while burning through 500cal a workout. My take away calories were only 1,100, and a woman needs at least 1,200 to function. I would stay close to my calories, taking Sparkpeople’s guidelines and amending them… but it was still frustrating, it took time, it still told me I was failing even if I knew I wasn’t. Take into account my thyroid and insulin meds, well, the restrictions were a bit stifling too.

So, I decided to abandon ship. A lot of my friends use MyFitnessPal, so I’m giving it a try for a few weeks. So far, I love the feature that allows me more calories equivalent to my workout. I don’t feel like I’m starving anymore. Hungry? Yes- but not starving. I had a little bit of an issue working with entering my workouts, since I manually enter everything based on my treadmill and my jog that day… it’s a little confusing, and at first I didn’t think I could customize it every day. I think I’ve figured that out now though, so we’re good! All my recipes and meals have been saved on Sparkpeople, so it is a bit of a pain to have to reenter and find everything. You have to remember, I’ve used Sparkeople for years!

It’s different, the set up isn’t what I’m used to, but I’m going to stick it out for a few weeks and see where this takes me. I still love Sparkpeople, and I think it did great for those first 75lbs, but now my level of workout and needs aren’t getting met there. The last 25lbs have been stubborn. They aren’t coming off as easy, and it’s completely understandable- I’m not as active, I’m eating more, I’m lacking motivation.

And that’s the thing, the motivation… part of me is content at this weight, even if most of me isn’t. Part of me is already proud of what I’ve done, and doesn’t want to bother with going further. Part of me is tired of counting every single thing that goes in my mouth. Even tired of jogging at times. I guess you could say that I’m worn out? If I don’t get pregnant this year, I at least want to meet my goal weight though… so I need to get cracking.

I’ve been using MFP for a few days now, and so far I think it’s helping. The scale has went down a little bit, which is good, but we’ll see where it goes from here. Hopefully I’ll have much better news to report at the next weigh in!

In the meantime, I’ve been having issues with my son, my car, fertility treatments, my health insurance… just, so much STRESS. I know it’s not helping in the course of things, but hopefully we can power through this. Tomorrow is a new day. It’s starting to feel more like spring here, and hopefully things will begin evening out and starting anew.

2 responses »

  1. You look amazing! Be proud of how far you’ve come. If you need to, just maintain for a while, then start again when the motivation hits!
    How are the fertility treatments coming? Do you like your doc?

  2. Thanks Stacey!

    The new doc is great. I mostly blog at my other blog about it, but I responded last cycle (BFN) so two cycles down now, and we’re on the third one. I have a monitoring appointment tomorrow, and I’m hoping for some good news.

Leave a Reply

