Negative comments-

Standard

My husband is obese too. Shocker, right? We do eat the same food and have lived the same lifestyle after all. He weighed more than I did when we started losing weight, but I’ve since had him stop drinking soda, and modified his diet as well as my own. We’re making progress. He still weighs too much to use the treadmill, but I do get him out on the weekends so we can hit up the zoo or a park. He’s lost about 20lbs just from those little changes… and he’s happy about this. Heck, I wish I’d lost 20lbs just from giving up soda! He knows he needs to lose the weight, and he’s trying. He isn’t a very self motivated person (hell, neither am I usually)… but together, we’re getting there.

Which brings me to this: People really suck sometimes.

My husband was at the store the other day, and told me a story of what happened to him while there. Apparently this teenager jumped out to the side of the aisle as he was going down it. The kid’s friends asked him what he was doing. The kid said, “Getting out of the way before that guy eats me!” Insert laughter.

What is wrong with people?

Needless to say, my husband was angry and felt awful. I was angry for him.

It’s not the first (and probably won’t be the last) time something like this has happened.

I remember one time my husband and I were out at a restaurant and this woman sat across from us with 5 kids. The entire time they were there, they kept looking to our table, pointing, and laughing. We caught bits of what they were saying, there was no mistaking it- the woman was making fun of us, and encouraging the kids to participate. I can no longer remember the words, but I can remember how it made me feel.

Like a totally worthless piece of crap, that’s how.

I don’t know what drives people to bully and say such negative things. Or to teach their children to be bullies, that one really disgusts me. I was bullied a lot growing up, for a lot of reasons. It never ends. I remember in college someone called me a “loser” under their breath as I was walking to my car. I laughed at him… it was really ridiculous.

I got to a place where I could laugh off most insults, because let’s face it, people that immature aren’t worth the effort most of the time. It just makes them look stupid. Sometimes though, it hurts. I mean, it crawls under the skin. It stays there, and it writhes, reminding you of it’s presence.

What happened to my husband? This is one of those instances. It didn’t even happen to me, but damn if it doesn’t make my blood boil.

People really suck sometimes.

2 responses »

  1. Agreed. I hate when people have NO IDEA what is going on in a person’s life, what struggles they have had or are overcoming and yet freely make fun of them.

    I hope he isn’t too upset by it now :/

    And tell him I am proud of him… and jealous! I rarely drink soda and I spend all day cleaning and in the last 2 1/2 years since I started that I’ve GAINED 40 lbs!

Leave a Reply

