Sore, but excited!

Standard

I am so sore after my workout Monday and my jog last night. I definitely worked some muscles that haven’t been used in awhile! It hurts, but it feels good. I’m making progress. I know from experience that if I just stick with it, the soreness will dissipate by next week. And I’ll be stronger for it.

Last night I made homemade pizza, it was delicious. I made whole wheat crust, and topped it with onions, red peppers, green peppers, banana peppers, black olives and mushrooms. Yum! I used the leftover pizza dough to make calzones for lunch today. All in all it was a lot cheaper than store bought or delivery pizza, and it was a lot healthier too.

I’m really trying to experiment with using whole wheat flour, so I think I’ll use it in my muffins next. I’ve never really bought or used it before, I usually just grab the all-purpose flour and go on my way. Growing up, my mother certainly never used it either. I usually buy whole wheat items, and I love whole grain/whole wheat bread, I just never seem to bake with it. Times need to change… because it was so much better than my regular flour crust.

This morning I got on the scale and it said 200.6lbs. I am SO CLOSE to 199/200lbs… and I am excited! I feel like it can’t happen fast enough. I’m working so hard, and closing in on that half way milestone (as well as finally being under 200lbs again) is a huge step for me. I think in the next week I might close that gap!

3 responses »

  1. YEAH!!! That pizza looks awesome. Would you might sharing your crust recipe?! 🙂 I love whole wheat and have also started using whole wheat flour. It’s great in banana bread!

  2. Sure, it’s:
    1 cup Warm water
    1tbl Sugar
    2 1/4tsp Dry Yeast
    3tbl Olive Oil
    1tsp Salt
    2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour (I used 1 1/4cup whole wheat and 1cup white flour, although next time I plan to reverse the ratio. It was good, but I think less whole wheat would have been better).

    Combine water, sugar, and yeast- stir until dissolved.
    Add Olive oil and Salt.
    Stir in flour, and let rest 10 minutes covered (I used cling-wrap to make sure it was good an covered.)

    Now, you could use it right away. I like to put it in the fridge though for an hour or so, it rises more when I do it that way.

    Knead and roll it out as desired.

    Preheat oven to 425, and you can either cook the crust alone for a bit to make it crisper, then add toppings. Or you can add toppings and cook it together. I like to cook it before, since I use a lot of veggies it can get soggy otherwise.

    The recipe makes 2 crusts worth. I usually just set the leftover in the fridge for the next day, to make Calzones or something else doughy 🙂

Leave a Reply

