Yoga and Ball Exercises

Standard

I’ve been meaning to add some yoga and ball exercises for awhile. I just never seemed to have the time, every time the little one is napping I’m rushing to get dishes done, or sorting laundry, or stealing a bit of time for reading. I feel like that’s another excuse though. I really want to start doing yoga again. I love the way yoga makes me feel. So what’s stopping me? I have time for a quick 15-30 minute session while he’s napping after all. I’ll just have to give up some time on my laptop… no big deal.

So I started that up today. I plan to do it on the days I’m not jogging. I don’t want to overdo it, but I do want to get a more rounded workout. Jogging is great, but I think I need to work my muscles in a different way if I want to see better results. So on Sunday, Tuesday, Thursday, and sometimes Friday I want to jog. On Monday, Wednesday, and Friday or Saturday I want to do at least 10 minutes of yoga, and a set of ball exercises.

I have a previous workout I put together on yogajournal.com that I’m going to restart for now. I might revise it as time goes on, but I’ll mostly be doing sun salutes, downward dog, cat/cow pose, plank pose, dolphin pose, and some warrior/triangle poses. In addition, some ball squats, crunches, and push-ups. There are a lot more of those exercises, I have a booklet with them, but just to start out those ones. I know from experience that I’m going to be really sore tomorrow, especially my arms and core. I’m out of shape and it’s going to take a lot to build myself back up. I’m hoping that my c-section area doesn’t bother me too much. I’ve found that when I do crunches or anything it gets pretty sore there, more so than it used to.

I guess I’ll find out tomorrow.

3 responses »

  1. I miss having an instructor, it helps me pace myself better and keep me focused. I keep thinking about taking an actual class again, but I just can’t find the time or money for that right now.

    I hear you about the wrists! I used to have to do modified exercises because of my carpal tunnel syndrome. Now, since I’ve had the surgery on both of them, they’re back to “normal” so hopefully I’ll be okay. But weak wrists are awful for some poses!

Leave a Reply

