Trying new things

Standard

First of all, my ankle/foot still hurts. It’s not excruciating, but it is sore. I still managed my jog yesterday though, and I plan on going to the zoo tomorrow and walking around anyway. Hopefully I won’t make it worse… after my jog yesterday it was pretty tender.

Tonight I made chicken, broccoli, and scalloped potatoes for dinner. I tossed around a few ideas to my husband, but that was our final decision. Chicken breast is a staple in our house, it’s fairly healthy, cheap, and versatile. It really can be dressed up in many different ways. A couple days ago I made it with enchilada sauce, over rice, black beans with bell peppers and onions. I almost always use rice with my dinner, which is probably a bad thing but it’s a staple in our household. It’s ridiculously cheap, and I love rice. I don’t go overboard with it though, so it could be worse.

There are of course wrong ways to use chicken breasts, and I’ve been bad about that myself. I often used it in my enchiladas, and that meal carried a hefty 900 calories! I tried reducing ingredients to bring it down, but the taste suffered. I tried splitting an enchilada between my husband and myself, but that just didn’t seem as filling. The meal I made with peppers, black beans, and rice is similar to my enchiladas; it lacks the cheese and tortilla though. I found it to be a fairly healthy substitute. It isn’t as good as my enchiladas, but it’ll do for more frequent meals. Enchiladas can maybe be split for a lunch food, or a rare treat on special occasions.
I’m trying to experiment more with healthier options though.

I’m not a chef, I’m not a dietician, I’m not even a decent cook (I’ll admit it.) The truth is, no one ever taught me to cook when I was growing up. When I moved out on my own, I was helpless. I’ve learned some things here and there, obviously, but I never really focused on what I was eating. A majority of my food was pre-made, pre-prepared, boxed, fast, and above all- easy. Especially in college, I used the excuse that I didn’t have the time. I was working 21-35hours a week and taking 15-20 credit hours most quarters… and yeah, that was insane. Maybe stupid. But I had bills to pay and I wanted to get college over with. I never took the time to look at what I was eating, to try new things, or to learn more recipes.

Of course now, I’m a stay at home mom. There’s no excuse for me not to make dinner every night. There’s no reason I can’t make things from scratch. There’s no reason I can’t try new recipes even. Yes, sometimes I get frazzled and we have rough nights full of screaming and nap refusals… but even then, I could be making something. I could learn to use my slow cooker, I could prepare things for dinner while my son is napping so it would take less time later, I could even spice up our lunches.

Since I’ve been using Sparkpeople again, I’ve got a better idea of what’s going into my body. That makes a huge difference in my decisions, especially when I know it’s between an apple and banana or that soda. I think it’s helped me to reevaluate my meals overall, and to make better decisions. Especially when it comes to meal planning. I try to keep dinner around 500-600 calories. And now, I know what that looks like. What is can taste like. So it’s not as hard as it could be otherwise. I’ve found that 500 calories can be just as awesome as 900.

I’m pinning recipes on my Pinterest board now, and hopefully I’ll be able to go back and print them. There are a few healthy options on there I’d love to try. Sometimes I surf AllRecipes.com for ideas too. Heck, maybe I’ll get around to looking at Sparkpeoples recipe section. I feel like I’m on the right track now, not perfect, but I’m getting there. One step at a time.

One response »

  1. Sounds like you are getting it under control and learning how to cook too! My struggle is an EXTREMELY picky husband… Ridiculously picky.

    I’m starting a new thing that a friend of mine is doing. It makes sense… Going to drink 16 oz of water before every meal. Hoping that will help me eat less too. And going to add workouts in the am encase I’m too tired at night. Trying!

Leave a Reply

